LibGuides: Library Resources for Online Only Graduate Programs: History

History Online Resources

Online Master's in History
Information about the history graduate program at SUNY Cortland.

Below are some online resources relating to the history discipline. Click on the Research Guides below to learn more about other specific historical resources that may be available. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to your history librarian, Brian Jirout.

Relevant Research Guides

EBooks

Internet Archive (start here)
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
Note: It is highly recommended that all MA in History students create a free account as the Internet Archive has an abundance of history resources they can easily access and use for free.
Ebooks relating to History found in ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebooks relating to History found in EBSCO Ebook Collection

EBSCO eBooks Open Access (OA) Collection This link opens in a new window
Open Access Ebooks covering many areas of study. See A-Z Databases:Ebooks for a full list of our ebook collections.

Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History journals and articles relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents relating to critical people and events in African American history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles covering many areas of study. Also includes images previously available in ARTstor.
New York Times with Index (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago.
Slavery in America and the World Collection This link opens in a new window
Historical legal documents related to slavery in the United States.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources and interpretive documents related to women's history in the United States

Full List of History Databases
The Avalon Project
Yale's Law School has developed the Avalon Project as a digital repository for documents in Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy, and Government. Documents cover from 4000 BCE to 2000.
Bibliotheca Palatina
The Thirty Years' War (1618-1648) caused the split of the Palatinate Library into two now half held at Heidelberg University and the other half at the Vatican. This Heidelberg University project seeks to digitize both collections to rebuild the whole of the library.
Note: parts of this website are in German but is easily navigable. University of Heidelberg is working towards developing an entirely English website.
Bibliotheque Virtuelle des Manuscrits Medievaux
This French digital library maintains manuscripts from French libraries around the country.
Note: This website is only in French, but is easily navigable. Click on 'Recherche' for a list of French cities which then links to records from a particular city.
Corpus Corporum
This University of Zurich website is a tool for Greek and Latin philology. This website can display lemmatized text.
Note: University of Zurich is still developing this resource and not all resources are available outside of Zurich's IP coverage area.
DMMapp
This database links to hundreds of digital repositories around the world with free access to medieval era manuscripts. This is a crowdfunded and crowdsourced platform.
Europeana
Digital archive of European cultural heritage resources.
Gallica
A repository of the National Library of France, Gallica has digital scans of over 800 medieval manuscripts from France and England.
Note: The website may appear in French, in the very top right of the screen there is an English option
Global Medieval Sourcebook
A Stanford University digital repository featuring digitized medieval texts and art from around the world, each with a description and source information.
Internet Medeval Sourcebook
This website maintained by Fordham University is organized into 3 main index pages. Began in 1996, this website provides sources on a wide range of Medieval European sources.
Manuscripts Online
Manuscripts Online: Written Culture 1000-1500 is a resource to search for literary manuscripts, historical documents, and early printed book available on websites curated by a variety of libraries, archives, universities, and publishers.
Medieval Digital Resources
The Medieval Digital Resources website, maintained by the Medieval Academy of America is a guide and database for resources and databases of digital resources on a variety of Medieval history topics.
Parker Library, Cambridge
Cambridge University's Parker Library has freely available digitized manuscripts.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Digital Library is a digital repository hosted by Tufts University that provides access to ancient, medieval, and renaissance area materials from Europe and the Middle East.
The Philological Museum
The University of Birmingham (UK)'s Philological Museum is devoted to Humanistic Letters, most of which are British in origin. It is split into two parts: the Library of Humanistic Texts and the Bibliography of Neo-Latin Texts.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
This database functions as an international forum for the promotion of research into the Reformation and Post-Reformation era. The Junius Institute at the Calvin Theological Seminary curates this website with digital tools and sources from Europe, North America, and Asia.
Project Gutenberg
This project contains over 70,000 free eBooks focusing on works for which U.S. copyright has expired. This archive of public domain materials has materials in multiple downloadable formats.
The Universal Short Title Catalogue
A digital repository developed at the University of St. Andrews which features over 4 million books printed between 1450 and 1650 with over 250,000 full digital scans. It draws from over 20 countries.

Interlibrary Loan - Request for Personal Delivery of Physical Items

Do not submit requests until you hear back from the Interlibrary Loan Department that the setup is complete.

If you are an Online Masters Student then you can request to have books sent to you, but be aware that this will probably add one to two weeks to the time it takes to get your materials. You may not be able to renew the books, depending on who provides them.

Before doing so, please be sure you have exhausted all possible alternatives (see the options listed in Library Resources outside of Memorial Library) and have consulted with your Advisor as well as meet with your Library Liaison to review options. Following the sequence provided above will ensure that getting the material needed will be a smooth and quick process.

If you have completed the above steps, you can proceed to fill out the form to set up the request process. Do not submit requests until you hear back from the Interlibrary Loan Department that the setup is complete.