History Primary Resources

Arachne is the central object-database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI). In 2004 the DAI and the Research Archive for Ancient Sculpture at the University of Cologne (FA) joined the effort to support Arachne as a tool for free internet-based research.

Primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government

The 'Digitised Manuscripts' section of The British Library website provides access to fully digitised manuscripts held at the Library and their descriptions.

The Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections (RMC) is Cornell's principal repository of rare books, manuscripts and archival materials in history, literature, music, the arts, science, natural history, and technology.

Digital facsimiles of complete manuscripts held at Oxford University and not just limited to the Bodleian holdings.

Trinity possesses about 1250 medieval manuscripts, several of which are available digitally, including the great 12th century Eadwine Psalter from Christ Church Canterbury, the 13th century Anglo-Norman Trinity Apocalypse, the 13th century Romance of Alexander and the 14th century manuscript of Piers Plowman.

Primary sources appear in RED. Be sure to scroll to the bottom to look at the citation for the primary source.

This site covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations.

This site is part of the Fordham University Sourcebook series. It provides primary sources from across the Ancient world.

441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. (Fordham University).

This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.

LacusCurtius: a large site on Roman antiquity, including a photosampler of Roman and Etruscan cities and monuments (with a very large site on the city of Rome of course); a site for teaching yourself to read Latin inscriptions; the complete Latin texts of Pliny the Elder's Natural History, Quintus Curtius' Histories of Alexander the Great, the Saturnalia of Macrobius, and Censorinus' de Die Natali; Suetonius, the Historia Augusta, Vitruvius, Claudian, Frontinus, Velleius Paterculus, Celsus, and Cato's de Re Rustica in both Latin and English; complete English translations of Caesar, Plutarch's Lives, Polybius, Cassius Dio, Appian's Civil Wars, Dio Chrysostom, Dionysius of Halicarnassus, Quintilian, and Oppian; several complete Greek texts in the original Greek; Rodolfo Lanciani's book Pagan and Christian Rome, Christian Hülsen's book on the Roman Forum, Bury's 2‑vol. History of the Later Roman Empire, Bevan's House of Ptolemy, 4 books on Roman Britain, George Dennis's Cities and Cemeteries of Etruria; Platner and Ashby's Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome (nearly complete) and most of Smith's Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities; about 45% of Plutarch's Moralia; some maps of the Roman Empire, and lots more.

This database contains all kinds of information about the illuminated medieval manuscripts of the Koninklijke Bibliotheek The Netherlands and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum.

The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers. Authors are held to high standards of accuracy, currency, and relevance to the field of medieval studies.

Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Look through a massive library of art objects, sites, and buildings. The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Descriptions and images have been produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars. Catalog information and keywords have been taken from standard sources, which are cited in the entries for each object.

The Theoi Classical Texts Library is a collection of translations of works of ancient Greek and Roman literature. The theme of the library is classical mythology and so the selection consists primarily of ancient poetry, drama and prose accounts of myth.

This site provides information about and often images of the manuscript collection held by the Bodleian Library at the University of Oxford.

Classical Weekly, this peer-reviewed journal publishes contributions on all aspects of Greek and Roman literature, history, and society; on the classical tradition; on the history of classical scholarship; and on the teaching of Latin, Greek, and classical civilization.

The Journal of Roman Studies publishes papers in the full range of the field which the Roman Society was established to promote, i.e. 'the study of the history, archaeology, literature and art of Italy and the Roman Empire, from the earliest times down to about A.D. 700'. The emphasis is on historical themes, but there are also articles on literary, archaeological and art historical topics, including issues of cultural and intellectual history that cut across these categories.

A peer-reviewed journal that aims to provide a platform for debate and exploration of a wide range of manifestations of media and culture in and about Greece. The journal adopts a broad and inclusive approach to media and culture with reference to film, photography, literature, the visual arts, music, theater, performance, as well as all forms of electronic media and expressions of popular culture.

Journal of Modern Greek Studies is the only scholarly periodical to focus exclusively on modern Greece. The Journal publishes critical analyses of Greek social, cultural, and political affairs, covering the period from the late Byzantine Empire to the present.