LibGuides: History Primary Resources: Global History

Global History

Databases
Primary Resource Websites

To find primary resources you can limit your search to "primary source document", "speech" or "archival materials" in the following databases:

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History journals and articles relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to military and government.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to the social sciences.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to world history.

Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
A digital library collection that brings a unique set of resources from Harvard’s libraries to Internet users everywhere. Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, the collection contributes to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of disease. Contagion is also a unique social–history resource for students of many ages and disciplines.
Cornell University Witchcraft Collection
The Cornell University Witchcraft Collection
Part of Cornell University Library’s Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell's Witchcraft Collection contains over 3,000 titles documenting the history of the Inquisition and the persecution of witchcraft, primarily in Europe.
Expedition & Discoveries
Expeditions and Discoveries delivers maps, photographs, and published materials, as well as field notes, letters, and a unique range of manuscript materials on selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953.
Hyperwar: a Hypertext History of the Second World War
This project is a collection of material related to the (primarily military) history of the Second World War, completely cross-referenced via hypertext links and enhanced, where appropriate, by various multi-media computer technologies."
Internet Global History Source Book
This website, still under construction, is created by Fordham University, which also introduced the Modern History Sourcebook. It focuses on global interaction and contact between civilizations. Some features this website goes into depth about are: Trade, War, Religion, Migration, Art and Music. It also features links to other websites.
Internet History of Science Sourcebook
This site is part of the Fordham University Sourcebook series. It provides primary sources from a wide range of time periods and places.
Stories of Holocaust Survivors
Gathered by Jewish Community Center, New Orleans, LA
World Digital Library
"The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world".
World War I Documents Archives
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
World War II (Fordham University)
Part of the Internet History Sourcebook.
USC Digital Library
Includes digital collections for both US and global history.