LibGuides: History Primary Resources: Newspapers & Archives

Newspapers & Archives

College Archives, SUNY Cortland
The College Archives contains materials relating to the institutional history of the College. These include yearbooks, newspapers, minutes, Catalogs, and more. These are typically unpublished primary source materials.
Digital Commons @ Cortland
The Digital Commons @ Cortland is a growing digital collection of Cortland's campus history, and the unique materials of the Library's College Archives. The Digital Commons also includes Cortland's Master's Theses.
Freedom Archives
The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements.
Google News Archive
With approximately 2,000 newspapers reportedly scanned, the archive includes many North American papers with varying coverage.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
LIFE Magazine Archives (Google Books)
Covers 1936-1972.
National Archives & Records
Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you.
National Archives New York City
The National Archives at New York City maintains the historically significant records of Federal agencies and courts in New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands dating from 1685 to the present.
New York City Municipal Archives
The Municipal Archives preserves and makes available New York City government's historical records. Records include office documents, manuscripts, still and moving images, vital records, maps, blueprints, and sound recordings.
New York State Archives
New York State Library
Digital Historical Documents from the Collections of the New York State Library, including: Adirondacks, Census, Constitutional Conventions and History, Indexes to New York State Documents, Laws of NY, Native American Materials, Natural History, New York State Government, History Colonial Period, Rensselaerwyck.
Milestone Documents
100 milestone documents, is compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
Public and Private Papers (of the Presidents)
National Archives and various university and trade presses have been editing and publishing the papers of different American Presidents and their Associates for years. University of Virginia provides access.
National Security Archives
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1955)
Founded in 1841 by Isaac Van Anden and Henry Cruse Murphy, The Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published as a daily newspaper for 114 consecutive years without missing a single edition.This site provides digitized newspaper and is a project from the Brooklyn Public Library's Brooklyn Collection.
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey is a collection of translations of newspaper articles originally published in Chicago's ethnic press between the 1860s and the 1930s. The Chicago Public Library administered the project that created this collection in the 1930s with funding from the U.S. Federal Works Progress Administration. The Press Survey was one of many initiatives during the Great Depression that employed Americans to document and enrich national culture. Translators and editors organized nearly 50,000 articles from 22 ethnic groups according to a hierarchical subject scheme created for the project. In total, the Survey produced approximately 120,000 sheets of typescript.
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Freedom's Journal
Freedom's Journal, the first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States was published weekly in New York City from 1827 to 1829. Freedom's Journal provided international, national, and regional information on current events and contained editorials declaiming slavery, lynching, and other injustices.
Friend of Man (1836-1842)
Friend of Man is one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements. From Cornell University Library.
Fulton Search (Old Fulton NY Post Cards)
Alternative search interface for over 47,059,000 historical newspaper pages from Old Fulton NY Post Cards.
Guide to historical newspapers online by state (Open Access)
Overview of newspapers available online, created by University of Pennsylvania Library.
Historical African American Newspapers Available Online
An alphabetical list of digitally available historical African American newspapers. From Marist College Library.
Historic Oregon Newspapers
On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP).
Internet Archives: Newspapers
The collection includes over 1 million items that have been scanned from microfilm or microfiche. The images in the collection range from the 1700s to the present.
New York Online Historical Newspapers
List of New York State historical newspapers available online.

New York Times with Index (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago.

State Library of Pennsylvania Digital Collections at Access Pennsylvania Digital Repository
(Not everything here is a primary source.)
Times (London, England) Index 1906-1980
Index covers the period from 1906 to 1980 in The Times of London. Find citations and find the Times on microfilm @ 3rd floor periodicals.
Times (London, England) Index 1914-1922
Index covers the period from 1914 to 1922 in The Times of London. Find citations in the index to find articles from Times on microfilm @ 3rd floor periodicals.
Times: Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper.
Index covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times of London. Find citations and find the Times on microfilm @ 3rd floor periodicals.
Wikipedia: List of online newspaper archives (Open Access)
List is organized by Country. It includes links and coverage dates.

Cortland: Co-No Press
Co-No Press was Cortland's student newspaper from 1925-1942.
Cortland: Hilltop Press
The Hilltop Press was Cortland's student newspaper from 1942-1971.
Cortland: Press
The Press was Cortland's student newspaper from 1971-1990.
Cortland: Dragon Chronicle
The Dragon Chronicle is Cortland's student newspaper and includes information from 1990-2017.