*Physical Education: General Research Guide

The most recent edition of this handbook on policies for high schools in New York State can be found here by clicking on "Handbook".

"Through partnerships with the public, private, and non-profit sectors, the Council promotes programs and initiatives that motivate people of all ages, backgrounds, and abilities to lead active, healthy lives."

"The Presidential Youth Fitness Program is a national program that includes fitness assessment, professional development, and recognition. Schools can adopt the program to assess, track, and award youth fitness and physical activity."

"Action for Healthy Kids® fights childhood obesity, undernourishment and physical inactivity by helping schools become healthier places so kids can live healthier lives."

A documentary on lacrosse from the Onondaga Nation.

"Disabled Sports USA’s mission is to provide national leadership and opportunities for individuals with disabilities to develop independence, confidence, and fitness through participation in community sports, recreation and educational programs."

ExRx.net (Exercise Prescription on the Net) is a free resource for the exercise professional, coach, or fitness enthusiast.

Advice on fitness from the world-renowned Mayo Clinic.

"Founded in 1990, the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum (NLBM) is a privately-funded, non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the rich history of African-American baseball."

Includes links to activities, classroom management techniques, assessment, and jobs. A good number of ads, so use with caution.

"A peer-reviewed journal and site for sport research."

"Our primary aim is to serve and delight our customers with the easiest-to-use, fastest, and most complete sports statistics anywhere."

SHAPE America – Society of Health and Physical Educators is the nation’s largest membership organization of health and physical education professionals. Since being founded in 1885, the organization has defined excellence in physical education, and our National Standards for K-12 Physical Education serve as the foundation for well-designed physical education programs across the country.

We provide programs and resources to support health and physical educators at every level, and work to make a positive impact on school health and physical education through our state and national advocacy efforts. SHAPE America has 50 state affiliates and is a founding partner of national initiatives such as the Presidential Youth Fitness Program, Let’s Move! Active Schools (now Active Schools) and the Jump Rope For Heart/Hoops For Heart programs.

"AFPA is a recognized leader in Fitness, Trainer & Nutrition Certification & Continuing Education for Fitness Professionals"

The mission of the National Athletic Trainers’ Association is to enhance the quality of health care provided by certified athletic trainers and to advance the athletic training profession.

Our professional organization supports, encourages, facilitates, advocates and promotes physically active and healthy lifestyles through school and community programs in health education, physical education, recreation and dance.

"The purpose of The North American Society for Sport History is to promote, stimulate, and encourage study and research and writing of the history of sport; to support and cooperate with local, national, and international organizations having the same purposes. The Society conducts its activities solely for scholarly and literary purposes and not for pecuniary profit." Includes membership directory, directory of scholars, information on publications.

The Alliance of Physical Education Majors at SUNY Cortland promotes physical education as a vital discipline paramount to the total development of healthy individuals. APEM focuses on increasing knowledge, attitude and professionalism of the students and faculty within the major. It helps provide networks between students, state and national professional organizations, and physical education professionals in the field, provides information workshops, conferences and various other activities and programs to create a stronger community for those involved in the major and promote the goals of SUNY Cortland's Physical Education Program.