The Essentials of Teaching Physical Education is the most up-to-date resource that aligns with SHAPE America's National Standards and Grade-Level Outcomes for K-12 Physical Education. The text is comprehensive in its coverage of what future teachers need to know about teaching K-12 physical education and offers a flexible, individualized approach to enhancing student learning and acquisition of skills.
The Essentials of Teaching Physical Education helps prepare future teachers by providing them with the following:
Insight into student motivation
A working knowledge of standards-based outcomes and content that will help students achieve the outcomes
The ability to plan for learning in both the short and the long term
Management and teaching skills to ensure an equitable environment that fosters student learning in three domains: psychomotor, cognitive, and affective
The means to assess student learning and program effectiveness
he same old story: the reproduction and recycling of a dominant narrative in research on Physical Education for girls -- Student Centred Pedagogy -- Pedagogies of Embodiment -- Inquiry based education centred in action -- Listening and Responding Over Time -- Possibilities for research and Physical Education from an activist perspective.
As a physical education teacher, you are ideally positioned to help students become physically literate individuals—that is, to gain the knowledge, skills, and confidence they need to enjoy a lifetime of healthful physical activity. And Lesson Planning for Middle School Physical Education will empower you to do just that.
Through this text, you can develop and implement lesson plans that will help your students attain the outcomes detailed in SHAPE America’s National Standards & Grade-Level Outcomes for K-12 Physical Education. Lesson Planning for Middle School Physical Education provides lesson plans from experienced middle school physical educators that
will help middle school students meet SHAPE America’s National Standards and Grade-Level Outcomes;
provide progressive practice tasks and integrate appropriate physical education assessments to evaluate and monitor student progress;
make the best use of technology in your physical education classes;
include handout materials, homework tasks, lists of needed materials and equipment, questions for student understanding, and reflection questions to ask yourself; and
offer guidance on best instructional practices for involving and engaging all students.
The plans offer instructional strategies and pointers on issues such as teaching for transfer, using grid and small games, differentiating instruction for varying ability levels, and integrating conceptual material. You can use the lessons as they are or modify them to meet your needs. Ultimately, these lessons provide a structure for developing your own learning activities and curriculum.
This guide contains updated exam questions based on the recent changes to the Physical Education exam. NYSTCE Physical Education Test contains similar exam questions focused on the content of the exam. The test questions are aligned with the exam to get you exposed to the best preparation to pass your NYSTCE Physical Education.
"The purpose of this book is to assist the undergraduate student in understanding the roles and responsibilities of a physical education administrator through the theoretical and practical lens, as well as assist the physical education teacher or department chairperson in entering the role as a physical education administrator. These responsibilities are covered in five sections: leadership, organization, and planning; curriculum, instruction, assessment, and special events; facilities, equipment, and technology; communication, legal issues, and human resources; and financial management"-- Provided by publisher.
"This text provides key concepts and principles of teaching physical education. The content reflects new and updated information on the changing nature of education and physical education"-- Provided by publisher.
"Mentoring Physical Education Teachers in the Secondary School helps mentors of new Physical Education teachers in both developing their own mentoring skills and providing the essential guidance their trainees need as they navigate the rollercoaster of the first years in the classroom. Offering tried-and-tested strategies based on the best research, it covers the knowledge, skills and understanding every mentor needs and offers practical tools such as lesson plans and feedback guides, observation sheets, and examples of dialogue with trainees" -- Provided by publisher.
"Using historical, contemporary, scholarly, and popular sources, Schultz traces the progress and pitfalls of women's involvement in sport. In the signature question-and-answer format of the What Everyone Needs to Know series, this ... book clarifies misconceptions that dog women's athletics and offers ... context and history to illuminate the struggles and inequalities sportswomen continue to face"--Publisher marketing.
"This manual is the third edition of the professional Adapted Physical Education National Standards (APENS). The National Consortium for Physical Education for Individuals with Disabilities (NCPEID) conducts a review process every several years and revises the APENS and the national exam as needed. These revisions are made by members of the profession to reflect current knowledge and practices"-- Provided by publisher.
Now in a fully revised and updated 6th edition, reflecting changes in legislation and cutting-edge research, this is a complete introduction to adapted physical education, from the underpinning science to practical teaching strategies and program design.
The book covers a broader range of disabilities, developmental disorders, and health conditions than any other textbook and includes brand new material on developmental coordination disorders and cognitive development. Full of teaching and coaching strategies and techniques, it introduces scientific fundamentals, key legislation, and best practice in designing effective programs. It encourages the reader to consider the individual before the disability and to focus on what learners can do rather than what they can’t.
This is an essential reference for teachers, coaches, or exercise professionals working with children with disabilities. It is also an invaluable resource for undergraduate or postgraduate students of adapted physical education, kinesiology, physical education, physical therapy, exercise science, athletic training, or sports coaching.
A growing body of research evidence suggests that physical activity can have a positive effect on educational achievement. This book examines a range of processes associated with physical activity that are of relevance to those working in education – including cognition, learning, memory, attention, mood, stress and mental health symptoms – and draws on the latest insights from exercise neuroscience to help explain the evidence.
With contributions from leading scientists and educationalists from around the world, this book cuts through the myths to interrogate the relationship between physical activity and educational achievement in children, adolescents and young adults in a variety of cultural and geographical contexts. Examining both the benefits and risks associated with physical activity from the perspectives of exercise science and educational psychology, it also looks ahead to ask what the limits of this research might be and what effects it might have on the future practice of education.
Physical Activity and Educational Achievement: Insights from Exercise Neuroscience is fascinating reading for any student, academic or practitioner with an interest in exercise science and education.
ONESearch
You can use ONESearch to search almost everything the Memorial Library has: books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
For more tips on using ONESearch, visit our ONESearch using Primo VE guide.
Books are located in the South Wing. Use the first letter of a book's call number to identify the floor on which it may be found:
2nd floor: C-H 3rd floor: J-N, Q-Z 4th floor: A-B, P
You can find eBooks by refining your book results to
"Available Online"
Other eBooks sources: