"This brand new dictionary is an indispensable A-Z guide to all aspects of sports studies, covering the social, political, economic, and cultural theory of sport, as well as sports and games. An essential reference work for students of sports studies, leisure and recreation, and sports science, and anyone with an interest in sport."--BOOK JACKET.
The dictionary is designed to be a pocket companion, for ready access by students, postgraduates, trainers, and health professionals involved in sport and exercise. It provides definitions and short accounts of terms used and techniques employed in the study and practical application of the relevant anatomy, physiology, biomechanics and psychology, and of commonly associated medical problems and treatments. Illustrations are included in the A-Z text, and appendices provide additional reference information and sources for further study.
This encyclopedia contains a comprehensive alphabetical guide for more than 2,000 entries on the full array of topics related to sports health including training, nutrition, psychology, injuries, illness, prevention, and alternative therapies. Clearly illustrated with photos and clear anatomical line drawings, this book has jargon-free explanations for thousands of questions about the health- and fitness-related aspects of exercise and sports. For those who have suffered a sports injury, have children involved in sports, are studying physical education, or just want to know about health-improving exercises, this is an invaluable reference guide.
Spanning the wide world of sports, this volume is packed with everything you could possibly want to know about hundreds of sports. Along with detailed information on how sports are played around the world, the Encyclopedia of World Sport explores emotions and issues surrounding the sporting life and looks at sport as an essential part of the human experience. Readers will find fascinating entries on baseball and badminton, tennis and takraw, as well as on an incredible range of activities played around the globe from ancient times up to the present. Lucid and authoritative, this work--called "the newest sporting bible" by The Times of London--covers every Olympic sport, obscure activities such as buzkashi and jousting, and indigenous games in dozens of nations.
A Dictionary of Sports Studies by Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Sport and Exercise Science and Medicine by Once you have identified the main topic and keywords for your research, find one or more sources of background information to read. These sources will help you understand the broader context of your research and tell you in general terms what is known about your topic. The most common background sources are encyclopedias and dictionaries from the print and online reference collection. Class textbooks also provide background information.