Basic TMC Searching
Choose the Teaching Materials Collection in ONESearch to limit your search to ONLY materials from the TMC.
Search by a Specific Field
Looking for a specific book title or author? Want to narrow your search to a certain Subject Heading? Get straight to these fields through the Advanced Search.
Refine Results by Location
Want a picture book for a read aloud? Looking for a nonfiction book for a science lesson? If you're looking for a specific type of book, you can get straight to the TMC collection you need by refining your results!
Search by Age or Grade Level
Have a book in hand and don’t know if it’s a good fit for your students? Use the Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database to look up a book by its title and find out its grade or age level. Use the book reviews to determine if it's a good quality book.
Connecting to our Collection
The CLCD is a comprehensive database, just like it says in the name! It searches ALL the children's literature that's out there, beyond the TMC. If you'd like to just see what we have available, you can narrow your search to ONLY show what's in the TMC.
Follow these steps to narrow down your search to the TMC:
Anytime you see a heart icon next to a title, that means that we have it in our collection!
Follow these steps to narrow by reading level:
When you find a book that interests you:
Search for Tricky Topics
Did you type in a topic and get no results? Are you looking for something that can't be found with a simple search? Use the Finding Books By Topic section for help.
Search Beyond the TMC
Not finding the books you want here? You can also explore and borrow from other libraries!
Interlibrary Loan
Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries for free. You can use World Cat to explore what other libraries have, and place requests.
Cortland Free Library
You can sign up for a free library card through the Finger Lakes Library System, and visit the Cortland Free Library (the local public Library) just down the hill to explore their collection.
Mobile Devices
Some features on a mobile device display a little differently from on a computer. Here are some basics:
1. Open ONESearch. You can get there from within MyRedDragon's Library Tab, or use the following link: ONESearch. (You will be prompted to log in if you aren't: use your usual @cortland email and password). Tap on the magnifying glass toward the top of the screen.
2. A dropdown menu will appear toward the top. Tap on that.
3. Select "Teaching Materials Collection" from the dropdown.
4. Type in your search term and then tap the magnifying glass or "Return" to run the search.
5. To filter your search further, tap on the funnel-shaped icon below the search bar.
6. Choose how you'd like to filter your results by expanding the options. These options are the same as you would see on a computer display. After you pick the filters you want, go to the bottom and tap "Apply Filters."
