Skip to Main Content

Popular Culture for Composition

Getting Started with Pop Culture

Welcome to our Pop Culture library guide!

On the blue tabs above, you can search for books (including our large ebook collection), articles, and videos. Below, I'll suggest some databases, and some strategies if you're not finding much on your topic.

Let's go!

Featured Databases

If you're getting too many results in the ONESearch, you might try these databases:

Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to communication, with a focus on media and business applications.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to communication, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Currently licensed titles can be found in ONESearch. Other streaming video databases are also available.
Kanopy is not supported on mobile device browsers (requires an app). See their related support page for more information on supported browsers/devices.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to the humanities and social sciences.

Featured Books

Racial Worldmaking: The Power of Popular Fiction by Mark C. Jerng
Call Number: PS374.R34 J46 2018
ISBN: 9780823277766
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
The History of the Kings of Britain by Lewis Thorpe (Introduction by, Translator); Geoffrey Monmouth
Call Number: DA140 .G353 1966
ISBN: 9780140441703
Publication Date: 1977-01-27
Composition, Rhetoric, and Disciplinarity by Rita Malenczyk; Susan K. Miller-Cochran; Elizabeth Wardle; Kathleen Blake Yancey
Call Number: PE1404 .C62557 2018
ISBN: 9781607326946
Publication Date: 2018-04-02

I'm Having Trouble! What Should I Do?

Do one or more of these subject terms work when running your search?

Cultural studies - Fandom - Mass media - Memes - Motion pictures - Popular culture - Television series - Transformative culture - Video games - Visual culture

Recent topics are more difficult to research. Try the following:

Search for the genre (e.g. comedies, action movies, graphic novels)
Search for the writer or director – what other work have they done?
Search for the sources of inspiration this aspect of pop culture

Need more help? Schedule an appointment with me, on the right!

How and Why We Read

Subject Guide

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

607-753-2500

Subjects: Anthropology, Business and Company Information, Economics, English/Literature, Psychology

Memorial Library on Twitter

Tweets by @CortlandMemLib