1) Create a list of keywords that relate to your topic. Determine broad AND narrow (specific) keywords for your topic.
2) If you need to find more keywords look a thesaurus, or perhaps an encyclopedia article (see previous tab "Background Resources")
3) Search via keywords (do not type sentences - Do not type a, the, etc.)
4) Use boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT.
- Use to search more specific
- Limit search by collection (TMC, Course Reserves, etc.)
- Do a more indepth search with more fields: ISBN, call number, etc..
You can use ONESearch to search almost everything the Memorial Library has: books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Refine your results by Books or Book Chapters to get books. Use 'Held by Library' to limit your results to our print holdings OR use the 'Available Online' option to get to Ebooks.
For more tips on using ONESearch, visit our ONESearch using Primo VE guide.
You can also use these Ebook databases:
Once you have identified the main topic and keywords for your research, find one or more sources of background information to read. These sources will help you understand the broader context of your research and tell you in general terms what is known about your topic. The most common background sources are encyclopedias and dictionaries from the print and online reference collection. Class textbooks also provide background information.
Image courtesy of of League of Women Voters.
Subject specific databases are especially good for in-depth research about your topic.
Art images with description information. ARTstor content is now all in JSTOR and it will be retired on August 1, 2024. ARTstor users are encouraged to migrate their content to JSTOR.
Scholarly and other types of articles covering many areas of study. Also includes images previously available in ARTstor.
What are Journals? Journals are serial publications that are released daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, yearly, etc.. The term "journals" usually is reserved for more scholarly publications, where the term "magazines" are usually intended for a popular audience.
To search for a journal by title, go to the "Library" tab in MyRedDragon, click the "Journals" tab in the upper middle "Library Search" box. Type the title and click "Search."
You can view current issues of a journal in print on the North side, 3rd floor of the Memorial Library. We also have some journals that only available in print, not digitally online. These journals can also be found on the North side, 3rd Floor of the library.
Cannot find what you need? Request it through Interlibrary Loan. For more information, click here
Select Publications from the search box, type in a title
Refine results or browse results
Current list of Video Databases: