African-American Movements & Milestones: Civil Rights

This section contains stories, oral histories, diaries, interviews, narratives, and remembrances about the author's experiences in the Freedom Movement. In most cases these were written or told in later years.

of the most memorable speeches by MLK provided by Time.

This collection of interviews seeks to make this massive movement local and understandable by reducing it into its smallest parts—the people that participated, in small and large ways.

This includes films and oral histories of the Civil Rights Era.

These 34 oral histories are preserved by PBS on various struggles within the movement.

The exhibition Voices of Civil Rights documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. This exhibition draws from the thousands of personal stories.

University of Michigan Library's Brown v. Board of Education Digital Archive. This archive contains documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case up to the present.

The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, and museums.

This includes exhibits from historic archives explain how the black community experienced this postwar period with desegregation, legal victories, and protest marches.

Includes documents, oral histories, and images.

This includes documents on influential activists and special events.

The Freedom Archives is dedicated to the preservation and dissemination of historical audio, video, and print materials documenting progressive movements and culture from the 1960s to the 1990s.

A collections of resources on Freedom Summer which includes documents, voices, teaching resources, and more.

Heavy television coverage of the Greensboro sit-ins sparked a sit-in movement that spread quickly to college towns throughout the South and into the North, as young blacks and whites joined in various forms of peaceful protest against segregation in libraries, beaches, hotels and other establishments.

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.

The King Library and Archives in Atlanta is the largest repository of primary source materials on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and the American Civil Rights Movement in the world.

The King Institute at Standford University includes a plethora of primary source documents on Dr. King.

The LOC has original photographs, documents, teaching resources, oral histories and more.

A collection at the National Archives on the life of Malcolm X.

This collections of resources of Malcolm X is preserved by Columbia University.

The official web site of the Rosa and Raymond Parks Institute for Self-Development.

The Rosa Parks Papers is a collection held by the Library of Congress.

Provides information on hate crimes throughout the United States.

This web site provides the user with a glimpse into the formation of the Student Nonviolent Coordination Committee (SNCC) over a six year period (1960-1966). The authors of the site provide information on important events that SNCC participated in during its early days. It also gives brief biographical information on the leadership of SNCC.

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights was created by the Civil Rights Act of 1957 as an independent, fact-finding agency with the mission to inform the development of national civil rights policy.