The third edition of Facilitation Techniques in Therapeutic Recreation was written to be a resource for TR professionals and students so that they can gain insight into some of the facilitation techniques used by TR specialists. The facilitation techniques provided in this edition are not intended to be comprehensive; rather, we attempt to present those techniques that many of the authors implemented while delivering TR services. -- Provided by publisher.
"Introduction to Recreation Services for People With Disabilities continues to reflect a broad-based explanation of the role of practitioners in the interrelated fields of therapeutic recreation, inclusive recreation, and special recreation. This fourth edition represents a major revision, including the most current research and thinking about the interdisciplinary fields of recreation and disability studies. This book is intended to be an introductory text for all students in parks and recreation/leisure studies departments."--Provided by publisher.
This edition probes the importance of leadership in the recreation, parks, and leisure service industry. Integrating theory with practice, the book focuses on a number of interrelated elements that influence leadership in recreation, parks, and leisure service organizations such as theoretical and foundational information, leaders within groups, and leadership within a number of recreation, parks, and leisure service settings.--[book cover].
"Leisure Program Planning and Delivery provides a comprehensive three-step plan for successful programming of leisure services and operational management of program systems in recreation and leisure service organizations. Grounded in contemporary professional practice and real-world applications, the book provides a systematic plan for students to learn the essentials of successful recreation programming, with examples of a variety of activities in community, outdoor, sport, cultural arts, and tourism sectors of the field."--Jacket.
"This book provides students and practitioners with perspectives on the management of recreational therapy heretofore unavailable to them. Many of the management concepts apply to middle-level managers, but the focus of the book is on first-line recreational therapy managers and the areas of management identified by the National Council on Therapeutic Recreation Certification (NCTRC). In-depth coverage is given to the five basic functions of management: planning, organization, staffing, influencing, and controlling. In addition, chapters are provided on key concepts integral to the management of recreational therapy programs. Included are chapters on internship supervision, clinical supervision, volunteer management, and managing marketing. The final chapter, Issues and Concerns for Managers, is unique in that it contains areas of substantial importance to managers that have received little attention in the recreational therapy literature. The format for the book is readable and easy to follow. Each chapter lists objectives for the chapter, gives definitions of key terms used within the chapter, and ends with a conclusion or summary of the chapter."--Publisher’s website.
What are torts? : why do we need to understand what they are? -- Negligence -- Standard of care -- Employee rights -- The risk-management plan -- Security and personal safety.
"Strategic Recreation Management is a comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to the fundamental principles, managerial techniques and practices in the public administration of recreational services. It covers every key facet of public management as it concerns recreational service, including organizational, operational, planning, developmental, and managerial procedures, as well as examining all the contextual factors that influence the delivery of recreation, such as political pressures, economics, social considerations, physical resources, and citizens' perception of the field and its performance. Each chapter offers illustrative case studies from the real world of recreation management, with chapters sequenced to represent the typical day-to-day challenges and issues in recreation service. Authors Jay Shivers and Joseph Halper have many years' experience of working in the recreational sector, as educators and practitioners, and the result is a textbook that provides the perfect foundation for any degree-level course in recreation management, as well as being an indispensable reference for all professionals working in recreation service."--Publisher's website.
A mindset for ethical therapeutic recreation leadership -- Therapeutic recreation values, principles, and models -- Program planning approaches and the therapeutic recreation process -- The blended role of therapeutic recreation leadership -- Common concerns of therapeutic recreation practice -- The therapeutic recreation toolkit : programs, benefits, and implementation -- Therapeutic recreation leadership : strategies for growth and learning -- Evaluation of practitioners, programs, and participants -- Unit-wide programming -- Leading therapeutic recreation groups -- One-to-one therapeutic recreation service -- Therapeutic recreation leadership for the 21st century -- Appendix A: NTRS code of ethics -- Appendix B: ATRA code of ethics -- Appendix C: NTRS standards of practice -- Appendix D: ATRA standards for the practice of therapeutic recreation -- Appendix E: NRPA position statement on inclusion -- Glossary.
Leisure Services Management, Second Edition, prepares students for the challenges they’ll face as entry- to mid-level recreation and leisure managers. The book outlines the essential knowledge and skills that successful managers need to have and helps students build those competencies by encouraging them to think as managers. The text’s activities, projects, and examples help students connect the competencies to real-world situations.
Race and ethnicity have a significant impact on leisure behavior and activity choices. Yet, until now, no book has thoroughly explored that impact, though this topic is critical for leisure professionals to understand as they shape services and programs to meet the needs of the diverse populations they serve.
Race, Ethnicity, and Leisure: Perspectives on Research, Theory, and Practice brings together 28 world-renowned researchers who provide a comprehensive review and unified perspective on leisure in relation to five minority populations in the United States and Canada: African Americans, Latino Americans, Asian North Americans, Indigenous peoples, and religious minority groups.
Foundations of Therapeutic Recreation, Second Edition, introduces students to the many career possibilities in the field of therapeutic recreation. Drawing on the combined wisdom and expertise of editors Terry Long and Terry Robertson, as well as 20 contributing authors who represent a broad spectrum of experiences within the discipline, the text provides the foundational concepts that are essential for understanding the profession.
ONESearch
You can use ONESearch to search almost everything the Memorial Library has: books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
For more tips on using ONESearch, visit our ONESearch using Primo VE guide.
Books are located in the South Wing. Use the first letter of a book's call number to identify the floor on which it may be found:
2nd floor: C-H 3rd floor: J-N, Q-Z 4th floor: A-B, P
You can find eBooks by refining your book results to
"Available Online"
Other eBooks sources: