"Illustrated with maps and photographs, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics covers the current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although the coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century. Each chapter includes a Country Chart listing relevant economic, political, and social data; a Country Entry selection containing 20 to 40 brief entries on important terms, events, and individuals; a list of presidents; and a bibliography. An excellent source of current data and basic historical information on Latin American politics, the book is a valuable research tool for high school and college students and interested public library patrons."--Jacket.
Preface -- A note on how to use this book -- Geography, population, and social structure -- Historical perspective -- Political culture and ideology -- Revolutionary and counter-revolutionary forces -- Political parties, pressure groups, and elections -- The military -- Governmental institutions and processes -- Economic modernization and political development -- International law and organization -- United States -- Latin American relations -- Index.
Provides information on the history, economy, politics, culture, industry, and geography of the eighteen Spanish-speaking republics as well as Brazil, Haiti, and Puerto Rico.
A guide to Latin American history includes a chronology of key events from pre-Columbian history through the present, a thematic survey following each topic (economic change, cultural development, politics and government) across time, and 300 biographies of Latin Americans throughout history.
From geology and biology to cinema and the theatre, this ambitious thematic encyclopedia, unique in scope and style, provides a much needed one-volume account of all aspects of Latin America and the Caribbean. Written by some fifty recognised experts in clear and accessible language for the general reader and copiously illustrated with full colour photographs, it discusses general themes as well as the individual countries in their own right. Ranging from contemporary economic problems, such as the debts of Brazil, Argentina and Mexico, and events of international political importance, such as the revolutions in Cuba and Nicaragua, through surveys of the flora and fauna, and the emergence of first human societies to the traditions of the samba and tango, writers such as Neruda, Borges and Garcia Marquez, and the potent production of the Mexican muralists, the Encyclopedia depicts lands and peoples which have long represented a distant enigma for the outside world but can no longer remain ignored by it.
"Intended to be an accessible yet comprehensive resource for readers seeking information about all major and most minor third political parties or candidates in American history, as well as major independent canadacies."--Introduction.
Alphabetically arranged entries cover such topics as affirmative action, privatization, zero-based budgeting, and progressive property tax.
This new edition takes stock of the revolutionary changes that have taken place since the dictionary was first published in 1982. 1790 entries cover every aspect of political thought providing an indispensable guide to the thought, the wisdom and the folly of modern politics by one of the most lucid philosophers of our time.
A unique two-volume examination of the progress women have made in achieving political equality, Women and Politics around the World addresses both transnational and gender-related issues as well as specific conditions in more than 20 different countries. Women have made significant progress toward equal political representation in the United States and around the world, but true equality may be a long way away. Though women represent more than half of the world's population, they account for only 15 percent of its elected officials, and their particular concerns often go unaddressed in the political sphere. Women and Politics around the World: A Comparative History and Survey is an exploration of the role of women in political systems worldwide, as well as an examination of how government actions in various countries impact the lives of the female population.
"This volume includes 22 new pieces by leaders in the field on both perennial and emerging topics of keen interest to contemporary political philosophers. In addition to longstanding issues such as Authority, Equality, and Freedom, and Democracy, there are articles on less classical topics such as Race, Historical Injustice, Deliberation, Money and Politics, Global Justice, and Ideal and Non-Ideal Theory. All of the pieces combine clarity and accessibility with a top scholar's critical and original point of view. The introductory essay briefly situates this snapshot of the state of the art in a broader view of developments in political philosophy in the last 40 years, and looks forward to future developments."--Provided by publisher.
The Oxford Handbook of the U.S. Constitution offers a comprehensive overview and introduction to the U.S. Constitution from the perspectives of history, political science, law, rights, and constitutional themes, while focusing on its development, structures, rights, and role in the U.S. political system and culture. This Handbook enables readers within and beyond the U.S. to develop a critical comprehension of the literature on the Constitution, along with accessible and up-to-date analysis. The historical essays included in this Handbook cover the Constitution from 1620 right through the Reagan Revolution to the present. Essays on political science detail how contemporary citizens in the United States rely extensively on political parties, interest groups, and bureaucrats to operate a constitution designed to prevent the rise of parties, interest-group politics, and an entrenched bureaucracy. The essays on law explore how contemporary citizens appear to expect and accept the exertions of power by a Supreme Court, whose members are increasingly disconnected from the world of practical politics. Essays on rights discuss how contemporary citizens living in a diverse multi-racial society seek guidance on the meaning of liberty and equality from a Constitution originally designed for a society in which all politically relevant persons shared the same race, gender, religion, and ethnicity. Lastly, the essays on themes explain how in a "globalized" world, people living in the United States can continue to be governed by a constitution originally meant for a society geographically separated from the rest of the "civilized world." Whether a return to the pristine constitutional institutions of the founding or a translation of these constitutional norms in the present is possible remains the central challenge of U.S. constitutionalism today. -- from back cover.
Once you have identified the main topic and keywords for your research, find one or more sources of background information to read. These sources will help you understand the broader context of your research and tell you in general terms what is known about your topic. The most common background sources are encyclopedias and dictionaries from the print and online reference collection. Class textbooks also provide background information.