LibGuides: SPM 650 Research Methods in Sport Management: Virtual Handout: Sport Management Databases

Sport Management Databases

Subject specific databases are especially good for in-depth research about your topic.

For help with databases, see the Database Access Troubleshooting Guide.

Business Insights: Essentials
Extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection; easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports; industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.
Business Source Complete
Full text from more than 1,700 scholarly business journals, and indexing of 4,300 titles. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports,country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, trends). Cited reference searching is available for many journals.
Physical Education Index (now called Sports Medicine and Education Index)
Sports Medicine and Education Index provides a access to wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered. The database contains peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications in the field of Physical Education.
Sbrnet - SportsMarketAnalytics
Includes sports business resources such as market research, government statistics, news, international publications, research, and directories. Offers detailed data on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, and media.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
With over 230 full text titles, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a bibliographic and full text database covering both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health and therapy.

Westlaw Campus Research - Legal, Business and News
Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information to provide a complete, 360-degree view of any issue. Database includes legal statutes at federal and state level, Company Profiles, EDGAR, Hoover Profiles, as well as national and international news sources.

Sport Management Resources

Journal of NCAA Compliance
The Journal of NCAA Compliance (JONC) is a newsletter that focuses on NCAA compliance issues in collegiate athletics. Once every two months, JONC provides in-depth reports on compliance decisions as well as original content about trends in the industry.
Legal Issues in Collegiate Athletics
Legal Issues in Collegiate Athletics (LICA) is a narrowly focused newsletter that monitors case law and legal developments at the intersection of sports and the higher education industry. Each month, LICA provides summaries and analysis of court opinions as well as stories about issues that have an impact on the typical college athletic department.
Legal Issues in High School Athletics
Legal Issues in High School Athletics provides the latest case law and analysis of legal issues that confront high school athletic directors, district superintendents and school board attorneys.
Sports Litigation Alert
Sports Litigation Alert tracks legal developments as they occur in amateur and professional athletics as well as legislative issues that impact sports law professionals.
Professional Sports and the Law
Professional Sports and the Law (PSL) is a publication that delivers summaries of important court decisions, expert legal analysis and relevant sports law articles to attorneys and other executives that work in-house at professional sports teams.