LibGuides: *Geography: General Research Guide: Adolescent Social Studies

Welcome to the guide for Adolescence Education in Social Studies!

On this page, you'll find examples of books, videos, journals, specific databases and web links related to physics.

Books

Books may be located upstairs in the Main Collection, or the Teaching Materials Center (which includes preK-12 resources on a variety of topics and formats). Below are examples of books in the catalog... use related keywords to find more!

Teaching Materials Center Main Guide
This guide will walk you through how to search for books in the TMC.

America's History by Vivian Bernstein; John L. Esposito; Mel Miller; Steck-Vaughn Staff (Prepared for Publication by)
ISBN: 9780739897089
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Textbook
Ancient Civilizations by Stanley M. Burstein; Richard Shek; Holt, Rinehart and Winston Staff (Prepared for Publication by)
ISBN: 9780030936654
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Textbook
Beyond Courage by Doreen Rappaport
ISBN: 9780763629762
Publication Date: 2012-09-11
Nonfiction
Spies of Mississippi by Rick Bowers; Wade Henderson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781426305955
Publication Date: 2010-01-12
Nonfiction

Historical Civilizations and Cultures: ebooks

The following are some example ebooks addressing ancient civilizations, written for a young adult audience.

You can find more with a search for the series: Exploring the Ancient and Medieval Worlds

Ancient Civilizations of Western Asia and the Mediterranean by Zachary Anderson
ISBN: 9781502605689
Publication Date: 2015-07-15
Empires, Crusaders, and Invasions Through the Middle Ages by Pliny O'Brian
ISBN: 9781502606792
Publication Date: 2015-07-15
Exploring the Life, Myth, and Art of Ancient Rome by Tony Allan
ISBN: 9781448848355
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Genghis Khan and the Building of the Mongol Empire by Marcia Amidon Lüsted
ISBN: 9781499463521
Publication Date: 2016-07-15

Wars: ebooks

The following are examples of ebooks written for a young adult audience about wars.

To see more, look for the United States at War series.

World War I by Zachary Kent
ISBN: 9780766036413
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Korean War by R. Conrad Stein; Kevin Hall
ISBN: 9780766076594
Publication Date: 2016-07-15

Jackdaws and other Primary Sources

Journals

High School Journal
The High School Journal publishes research, scholarship, essays, and reviews that critically examine the broad and complex field of secondary education.
The History Teacher
THT publishes inspirational scholarship on traditional and unconventional techniques
in history education.
Journal of social science education
The Journal of Social Science Education is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access journal which publishes high-quality articles on teaching and learning in the interdisciplinary field of social science education.
Journal of social studies education research
Journal of Social Studies Education Research (JSSER) is an international, scholarly open access, peer-reviewed and fully refereed journal focusing on theories, methods and applications in Social Studies Education.
Middle School Journal
Published five times per year, the journal offers articles that promote quality middle level education and contribute to an understanding of the educational and developmental needs of youth between the ages of 10 and 15.
Social Education
Resources include techniques for using materials in the classroom, information on the latest instructional technology, reviews of educational media, research on significant social studies-related topics, and lesson plans that can be applied to various disciplines.

Websites

Densho
Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. Includes lesson plans and an encyclopedia of articles about the experience.
History Unbound
"History Unbound will facilitate teachers’ ability to locate and review documents that conform to the Social Studies New York State Common Core standards and improve student preparation for the NYS Regents Examinations by pointing to the Library of Congress Primary Sets, New York Heritage collections and secondary literature including lesson plans and web-based and regional face-to-face workshops on inquiry based learning."
Holocaust Explained
Supports 11-16 year old students learning about the Holocaust.
I Witness
IWitness is an online application for educators and students, giving them access to watch, search, and learn from over 1,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust.
iCivics
iCivics prepares young Americans to become knowledgeable, engaged 21st century citizens by creating free and innovative educational materials.
Japanese American Citizens League: Educational Resources
The JACL is committed to the goal of educating our membership and the public at-large about the Japanese American historical experience and the lesson that the World War II internment holds for the future conduct of our government related to our Constitutional liberties.
Library of Congress: Teachers Page
Provides lesson plans, primary sources, presentations and other classroom materials. You can also search by state and standard for specific lesson plans.
Office of the Historian
Teaching materials on diplomacy for American middle and high school students. The site also includes information about countries of the world and foreign relations historical documents.
Oh Freedom!: Teaching Civil Rights through Smithsonian Collections
A free, interactive web site that introduces the Civil Rights Movement through the unique lens of Smithsonian collections.
Project Vote Smart
Get information on elected officials, key votes on big issues, and more. Project Vote Smart is a non-partisan, nonprofit educational organization.
Teaching the Movement
Best practices for teaching the Civil Rights Movement, from Teaching Tolerance.
Teaching With Documents
Lesson plans from the National Archives and Records Administration. This site contains lessons organized by era and includes primary source material to go along with each section. There is also a Presidential Libraries section, with links to digital collections that include primary source materials.
Freedom Forum
The Freedom Forum’s mission is to foster First Amendment freedoms for all. It works to raise awareness of First Amendment freedoms through education, advocacy and action, sharing the stories of Americans who have exercised their rights to ignite change.
Zinn Education Project
Aimed at middle and high schools for teaching history, the website offers more than 100 free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and reading level.

*Geography: General Research Guide

Databases

YA ebooks in ONESearch

Videos

Test Materials