LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Sociology OER

Sociology

icon The following links will take you directly to lists of open textbooks for Sociology. These sites contain open textbooks in a variety of subject areas as well. Please consider submitting other open textbooks or websites you find by clicking the "Submit an Open Resource" link below. These lists are a work in progress.

Sociology (BCcampus OpenEd)
The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available openly-licensed textbooks in the highest-enrolled academic subject areas.
Sociology (Open Textbook Library)
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

Sociology (MIT Open Courseware)
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Sociology (Open Course Library)
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of their materials are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students.
Sociology (Saylor Academy)
Saylor Academy contains full courses, including syllabi, readings, quizzes, and more.

Europeana
Europeana.eu is the EU digital platform for cultural heritage. More than 3,000 institutions across Europe have contributed to Europeana. These range from major international names like the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the British Library and the Louvre to regional archives and local museums from every member of the European Union. Together, their assembled collections let users explore Europe's cultural and scientific heritage from prehistory to the modern day.
Sociology (MERLOT)
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.
World Digital Library
The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.
OER Commons
OER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners avoid time-consuming searches and find exactly the right materials. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons’ growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER everyone can more efficiently find what they need.

OASIS: Openly Available Sources Integrated Search

OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM): Simultaneously Search OER Repositories

Created By: George Mason University, University Libraries

Submit an Open Resource

Submit an OER Textbook or Resource recommendation