LibGuides: History Databases: Subject Specific Databases

Subject Specific Databases

Subject specific databases are especially good for in-depth research about your topic.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History journals and articles relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodical Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from historical American newspapers.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
American history documentary and educational videos.
ARTstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Art images with description information.

Digital Commons@Cortland
The Digital Commons @ Cortland is a growing digital collection of Cortland's campus history, and the unique materials of the Library's College Archives. The Digital Commons also includes Cortland's Master's Theses.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents relating to critical people and events in African American history.
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865 This link opens in a new window
Full-text and images from Harper's Weekly for the Civil War period, 1857-1865
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full-text scholarly and other types of articles relating to world history (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Books, book chapters, and articles relating to the European Middle Ages. Covers Europe, the Middle East, and North African from 400-1500. Primarily contains abstract-only content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles covering many areas of study. Also includes images previously available in ARTstor.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to military and government.
Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to military affairs.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
U.S. regional, national, and international newspapers.
New York Times with Index (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago.
Periodicals Archives Online This link opens in a new window
Archived (older) scholarly and other types of articles relating to the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to philosophy.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to the humanities and social sciences.
Readers' Guide Retrospective:1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Major historical magazine and journal articles starting from 1890.
Slavery in America and the World Collection This link opens in a new window
Historical legal documents related to slavery in the United States.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to the social sciences.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to U.S. history.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources and interpretive documents related to women's history in the United States
WorldCat (First Search) This link opens in a new window
Global catalog of books. Browse books and click to request a book through Resource Sharing.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Global catalog of books. Browse books and click to request a book through Resource Sharing.
National Newspaper Index This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and international newspapers, such as the New York Times, The Washington Post, and Chicago Tribune.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and other types of articles relating to world history.