This four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context. On the marketing side this reference resource explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and of sport-related products (promoting a particular team or selling team- and sport-related merchandise, for example), and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products, such as celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament. Together, these four volumes offer a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the state of sports management and marketing today, providing an invaluable print or online resource for student researchers.
"This brand new dictionary is an indispensable A-Z guide to all aspects of sports studies, covering the social, political, economic, and cultural theory of sport, as well as sports and games. An essential reference work for students of sports studies, leisure and recreation, and sports science, and anyone with an interest in sport."--BOOK JACKET.
Once you have identified the main topic and keywords for your research, find one or more sources of background information to read. These sources will help you understand the broader context of your research and tell you in general terms what is known about your topic. The most common background sources are encyclopedias and dictionaries from the print and online reference collection. Class textbooks also provide background information.
Subject encyclopedias offer a very quick way to get yourself started on research topics. They are compiled by experts in the field.
See the featured dictionaries and encyclopedias at the top of this page for examples, or search for more. To find a subject encyclopedia in ONESearch, just add encyclopedia to your subject heading: i.e.: "mathematics encyclopedia."
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by