Alumni are able to digitally access two alumni-specific databases for research, or the Digital Commons for campus materials.
Alumni can contact the Alumni Engagement Office at 607-753-2516 or by email to alumni@cortland.edu for information on accessing special alumni databases. Information on these databases can be found in the Red Dragon Network.
Memorial Library and The Red Dragon Network also encourage alumni to visit the Digital Commons @Cortland collection to see digitized items from the Archives. Student publication highlights include:
Yearbooks: The Didascaleion
Student Newspapers: Various Titles
Student Handbooks: Various Titles
Transformations: Programs
Local residents may borrow books or come to the building for access to more research resources.
Residents and high school students, 16 years of age or older, from the local community (see resident and school affinity outlined below) are eligible for a Community Borrowers Card. A Community Borrowers card will be issued upon presentation of a driver's license showing current local address and age.
Residents: Cortland, Tompkins, Onondaga, Madison, Chenango, Broome, Tioga, Cayuga Counties who are 16 years or older.
Print: Books can be borrowed from the Library Catalog.
Electronic Resources: Guests seeking access for research purposes should visit either the Research Help Desk or The Help Center.
Cortland Free Library:
Located on the corner of Church and Court Streets downtown, Cortland's public library is a member of the Finger Lakes Library System.
Beyond Cortland:
Academic: Check with your local college or university about community borrowing privileges. Most will have a policy in place which can get you access to further resources.
Public: Your local public library can also be a resource for online materials, so you may want to search that in addition to other resources. With your local public library card, you can access e-books, databases, and even physical books. Contact your library for more information about card registration procedures and requirements.
Apply for an NYS library card here!
Individuals who qualify under the categories listed in the link above "may apply for a NYSL Borrower's Card or a New York State Resident Borrower's Card. A NYSL Borrower's Card or NYS Resident Borrower's Card allows individuals to borrow books and other materials, as well as, access online journals, online newspapers and other online resources 24/7 from work or home."
General Research Databases:
Newspapers and Magazines:
For more, see the Full List of Databases at NYS Library
NY Public library cards can be obtained for free by "anyone who lives, works, attends school, or pays property tax in New York State. Out-of-state visitors can apply for a temporary card."
Databases and Resources:
For more, see the Full List of Databases available at NYPL
Online Resources: These general materials are freely accessible online to anyone.