*Jewish Studies: General Research Guide

The American Jewish Historical Society provides access to more than 25 million documents and 50,000 books, photographs, art and artifacts that reflect the history of the Jewish presence in the United States from 1654 to the present. Among the treasures of this heritage are the handwritten original of Emma Lazarus’ The New Colossus, which graces the Statue of Liberty; records of the nation’s leading Jewish communal organizations and important collections in the fields of education, philanthropy, science, sports, business and the arts. Founded in 1892, AJHS is the oldest national ethnic historical organization in the nation. AJHS is one of five partner organizations at The Center for Jewish History in Manhattan and has a branch in Boston.

The Center for Jewish History is one of the foremost Jewish research and cultural institutions in the world.t is home to five partner organizations—American Jewish Historical Society, American Sephardi Federation, Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum and YIVO Institute for Jewish Research—whose collections total more than 500,000 volumes and 100 million documents and include thousands of pieces of artwork, textiles, ritual objects, recordings, films and photographs. Taken as a whole, the collections span more than 600 years of history and comprise the largest repository of the modern Jewish experience outside of Israel. At the Center, the history of the Jewish people is illuminated through scholarship and cultural programming, exhibitions and symposia, lectures and performances.

Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

The Dartmouth Jewish Sound Archive has assembled a trove of musical and spoken recordings (nearly 42,000 tracks) dealing with all aspects of Jewish life.

German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.

The Harriet and Kenneth Kupferberg Holocaust Resource Center and Archives at Queensborough community College provides information about their collections including current and traveling exhibits, video resources and dissertation abstracts on the Holocaust.

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum provides this encyclopedia of the Holocaust, available in 12 languages.

The American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise's Jewish Virtual Library provides sources for information about Jewish history, Israel, U.S.-Israel relations, the Holocaust, antisemitism and Judaism. This is not just a historical archive, it is also the place to find talking points on breaking news. When an issue comes to the fore — whether political or religious — and you need data fast, this is the first place you should look.

The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit to a broad public the rich history of American Jewish women. A national non-profit organization founded in 1995, the Jewish Women's Archive is devoted to making known the stories, struggles, and achievements of Jewish women in North America in order to enrich the way we understand the past and to ensure a more inclusive future.

The only resource of its kind, this encyclopedia provides the most complete picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. This Web site makes accurate, reliable, scholarly information about East European Jewish life accessible to everyone. Great resource for Daily life sources!

The CJM makes the diversity of the Jewish experience relevant for a twenty-first century audience through innovative exhibitions and programs that educate, challenge, and inspire. The Museum is designed by Daniel Libeskind.

The Jewish Museum Berlin was opened in 2001. The path from the idea to found a Jewish museum in West Berlin to creating an exhibition concept was a long and winding one with many controversies along the way. The controversies also reflect the change in the perception of Jewish history against the backdrop of the Holocaust.

The Jewish Museum, the preeminent museum in the United States devoted exclusively to art and Jewish culture. Founded in 1904 with just 26 donated objects, the Museum has grown a thousand-fold, and its collections now comprise 27,000 items, ranging from archaeological artifacts to works by today’s cutting-edge artists.

The mission of the Museum is to educate people of all ages and backgrounds about the broad tapestry of Jewish life in the 20th and 21st centuries—before, during, and after the Holocaust.

Safe Haven Holocaust Refugee Shelter Museum is dedicated to keeping alive the stories of the 982 refugees from World War II who were allowed into the United States as "guests" of President Franklin D. Roosevelt. These refugees were housed at Fort Ontario in Oswego, New York, from August 1944 until February 1946.