African-American Perspective
Library of Congress collection consists primarily of material published between 1875 and 1900. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, and Emanuel Love.
American Founders Online
An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications.
American Social History Project
The American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning is dedicated to renewing interest in history by challenging traditional ways that people learn about the past. Founded in 1981 and based at the City University of New York Graduate Center, ASHP/CML produces print, visual, and multimedia materials that explore the richly diverse social and cultural history of the United States.
Avalon Project
Primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
The Thirty Years' War (1618-1648) caused the split of the Palatinate Library into two now half held at Heidelberg University and the other half at the Vatican. This Heidelberg University project seeks to digitize both collections to rebuild the whole of the library.
Note: parts of this website are in German but is easily navigable. University of Heidelberg is working towards developing an entirely English website.
Bibliotheque Virtuelle des Manuscrits Medievaux
This French digital library maintains manuscripts from French libraries around the country.
Note: This website is only in French, but is easily navigable. Click on 'Recherche' for a list of French cities which then links to records from a particular city.
Biographical Directory of US Congress
Look up biographies of US congressmen from 1774 to present.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Civil War Diaries and Letters
"This digital collection contains diaries and related items of soldiers from Iowa who fought in the American Civil War (1861-1865). The documents offer valuable insight on their day-to-day activities, accounts of battles, and feelings regarding the war and their time as soldiers. Several of the diaries include full or partial transcriptions".
This University of Zurich website is a tool for Greek and Latin philology. This website can display lemmatized text.
Note: University of Zurich is still developing this resource and not all resources are available outside of Zurich's IP coverage area.
This database links to hundreds of digital repositories around the world with free access to medieval era manuscripts. This is a crowdfunded and crowdsourced platform.
Digital archive of European cultural heritage resources.
Gallica
A repository of the National Library of France, Gallica has digital scans of over 800 medieval manuscripts from France and England.
Note: The website may appear in French, in the very top right of the screen there is an English option
A Stanford University digital repository featuring digitized medieval texts and art from around the world, each with a description and source information.
Hathitrust
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
History Unbound
History Unbound will facilitate teachers’ ability to locate and review documents that conform to the Social Studies New York State Common Core standards and improve student preparation for the NYS Regents Examinations by pointing to the Library of Congress Primary Sets, New York Heritage collections and secondary literature including lesson plans and web-based and regional face-to-face workshops on inquiry based learning.
This website maintained by Fordham University is organized into 3 main index pages. Began in 1996, this website provides sources on a wide range of Medieval European sources.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
"Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). The work was first published in 1903-04 by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Enhanced by the editors' use of margin notations and a comprehensive index, the information contained in Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties is in high demand by Native peoples, researchers, journalists, attorneys, legislators, teachers and others of both Native and non-Native origins".
Manuscripts Online: Written Culture 1000-1500 is a resource to search for literary manuscripts, historical documents, and early printed book available on websites curated by a variety of libraries, archives, universities, and publishers.
Medieval Digital Resources
The Medieval Digital Resources website, maintained by the Medieval Academy of America is a guide and database for resources and databases of digital resources on a variety of Medieval history topics.
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
New York State Archives
The New York State Archives was established in 1971 and opened its doors to the public in 1978. It is a program of the State Education Department, with its main facility located in the Cultural Education Center on Madison Avenue in Albany. There it cares for and provides access to more than 200 million documents that tell the story of New York from the seventeenth century to the present.
Cambridge University's Parker Library has freely available digitized manuscripts.
The Perseus Digital Library is a digital repository hosted by Tufts University that provides access to ancient, medieval, and renaissance area materials from Europe and the Middle East.
The University of Birmingham (UK)'s Philological Museum is devoted to Humanistic Letters, most of which are British in origin. It is split into two parts: the Library of Humanistic Texts and the Bibliography of Neo-Latin Texts.
This database functions as an international forum for the promotion of research into the Reformation and Post-Reformation era. The Junius Institute at the Calvin Theological Seminary curates this website with digital tools and sources from Europe, North America, and Asia.
Project Gutenberg
This project contains over 70,000 free eBooks focusing on works for which U.S. copyright has expired. This archive of public domain materials has materials in multiple downloadable formats.
Project MUSE and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Johns Hopkins University Press Project MUSE partnered with the USHMM to launch its Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945. This open access, searchable publication is a resource for research Nazi persecution sites.
Thomas Jefferson Papers
The complete Thomas Jefferson Papers from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 27,000 documents. This is the largest collection of original Jefferson documents in the world.
A digital repository developed at the University of St. Andrews which features over 4 million books printed between 1450 and 1650 with over 250,000 full digital scans. It draws from over 20 countries.
